RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MARION COUNTY, KS

April 1, 2024

Commission met in regular session at 12:30 p.m. in Commission chambers at the Marion County Courthouse with Chr. David Mueller, Comm. Jonah Gehring, Comm. Kent Becker, Comm. Dave Crofoot, and Comm. Randy Dallke present. Present for portions of the meeting were Co. Clerk Ashley Herpich, Co. Admin Tina Spencer, County staff, members of the public, and members of the press.

PUBLIC FORUM: There were no public comments.

ADMINISTRATIVE: Change orders affecting 2023 and prior years' tax rolls were reviewed and signed by the Board.

- Ambulance statistics were reviewed. Becker moved to approve the ambulance write-offs in the amount of \$9,252.45. Dallke seconded and motion carried 5-0.
- April 13th is the open house for the EMS station in Hillsboro. Comm. Becker and Comm. Mueller are attending and able to help.
- Road & Bridge Section Foreman job description was reviewed and discussed. Consensus of the Board is to hire for the position.
- The Regional Commission meeting is going to be held on April 22 at 5:30 p.m. in Junction City. Comm. Gehring, Comm. Dallke, and Comm. Crofoot plan to attend.

COUNTY COUNSELOR: Mueller moved to recess into executive session to discuss pending litigation pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319b (2) for consultation with our attorney on matters deemed privileged under attorney/client privilege with the Board, Jantz, and Spencer present for nine minutes until 1:00 p.m. Gehring seconded and motion carried 5-0. Open session resumed with no action.

SEXUAL ASSAULT AWARENESS MONTH PROCLAMATION: Deanne Nelson with SafeHope joined the session and presented statistics about sexual assault, including Marion County general statistics of those served through SafeHope Advocacy Center. Nelson presented a proclamation for approval, declaring April as Sexual Assault Awareness Month in Marion County. Mueller moved to adopt the proclamation, declaring April as Sexual Assault Awareness Month in Marion County, Kansas. Dallke seconded and motion carried 5-0.

DEPARTMENT HEAD REVIEWS: Mueller moved to recess into executive session for department head performance reviews pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319b (1) for personnel matters of non-elected personnel with the Board and department heads until 2:30 p.m. Gehring seconded and motion carried 5-0. Open session resumed with no action.

ELECTION SECURITY: Facilities & Technology Operations Dir. Coby Hayes and Deputy Co. Clerk Michelle Looper joined the session. Hayes reviewed the project design and cost analysis report of the Election Office Remodel with the board. The total project budget is estimated at \$49,702.29. The county will receive a Grant to reimburse \$36,000 of the project costs.

Mueller moved to recess into executive session to discuss election security pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319b (3) for matters related to security measures with the Board, Spencer, Coby, Herpich, Looper, and Jantz present for ten minutes until 2:44 p.m. Gehring seconded and motion carried 5-0. Open session resumed with no action.

Mueller moved to proceed with the election security project as presented not to exceed \$49,750.00. Crofoot seconded and motion carried 4-1 with Becker opposed.

COURTHOUSE OFFICE REMODEL PROJECT: Facilities & Technology Operations Dir. Coby Hayes joined the session. Hayes reviewed the project design and cost analysis report of the Administration Offices Remodel with the board. The total project budget is estimated at \$36,455.00. After some discussion, Mueller moved to accept the budget of \$36,500.00 on the courthouse Administrator Office Remodel Project as presented and use the courthouse building funds. Becker seconded and motion carried 5-0.

COMMISSION DISCUSSION: Comm. Dallke requested discussion on budget process and philosophy. After discussion on how to move forward and whether Scot Loyd of the Loyd Group is needed for the budget process, the consensus of the Board is to keep the process the same this year and start streamlining next year.

COUNTY COUNSELOR: Co. Counselor Brad Jantz updated the Board regarding ongoing attorney/client matters and policy development.

RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MARION COUNTY, KS

April 1, 2024, continued

ADMINISTRATIVE: Spencer presented the agreement for the demolition of the building at 1220 E Main, and notice of award to proceed with Hett Construction. Gehring moved to approve the agreement for the demolition at 1220 E Main, pending staff review. Crofoot seconded and motion carried 5-0.

COMMISSION COMMENTS: Becker mentioned citizens are concerned the Health Department building is twenty-two feet too long, and won't be able to get around a ten foot easement.

Mueller moved to adjourn. Gehring seconded and motion carried 5-0. Meeting adjourned at 3:37 p.m.

ATTEST:

David Mueller, Chairman

Ashley Herpich, County Clerk

RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MARION COUNTY, KS

April 1, 2024, continued

PROCLAMATION SEXUAL ASSAULT AWARENESS MONTH APRIL 2024

WHEREAS, April is Second Assault Awareness Month (SAAM), a time to praw aucrition to the prevalence of second assault. Second harassment, almost, and assault are withespread problems, affecting a Leon munifies. We know that, in the United States above, nearly one in five women and one in thirdeen men have experienced second violence by an infinite partner. Moreover, over 53% of women and over 29% of menreported experiencing sexual violence in their lifetime (CDC, 2016/17 Report on Infinite: Partner Violence).

WHEREAS, Sexual Assault Awareness Month culls attention to the fact that sexual violence is widesmean and impacts every person in the community. SAAM aims to raise public awareness about sexual violence, and to educate communities on how to prevent it.

WHERICAS, 2024 works the TWINTY (THRD) anniversary of Sexual Asseult A

NOW, THEREFORE, the Board of Marion County Commissioners in the State of Kansas, do hereby proclaim the month of April 2024 as "Second Assault Awareness Month" in Marion County, Kunana.

Adopted this $\{||$ day of [] $\widehat{H}\rho \otimes \} = 2024.$

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS MARION COUN ТҮ. КАМ Á5 David/Meeller, Chein เยา Dave Crofong Chairman ent Beeker. Member Divike, Member Rundy seenali Gehring, Member * Sc. 1318114 ATTEST). Ashley Hereica, Courly Clerk

6205