RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MARION COUNTY, KS

May 28, 2021

Commission met for payday and other business at 9:00 a.m. in Commission chambers at the Marion County Courthouse with Vice Chr. Dave Crofoot, Comm. Kent Becker, Comm. Jonah Gehring, and Comm. David Mueller present. Chr. Randy Dallke was absent. Also present was Co. Clerk Tina Spencer. Present for portions of the meeting were County staff, members of the public, and members of the press.

SALES TAX: Sales tax for the month of March, 2021 was received in the amount of \$79,408.56.

PAYDAY: The monthly cumulative comp time report was reviewed.

- A detailed list of expenditures by fund was reviewed.
- Crofoot moved to approve the grand total payday in the amount of \$1,012,088.06 (including payroll at \$539,306.29). Mueller seconded and motion carried 4-0. (Checks #53613-53839. Voided checks #53648, 53835.)

ADMINISTRATIVE: Crofoot moved to approve the minutes of May 24th. Becker seconded and motion carried 4-0.

- Becker moved to adopt a proclamation declaring a state of local disaster emergency for Marion County, Kansas (for severe weather and flooding, and ratifying a verbal declaration dated May 27th). Gehring seconded and motion carried 4-0.
- Gehring moved to approve an agreement with KDOT (for Local Bridge Improvement Plan project 57-C-5086-01 bridge replacement on Goldenrod between 160th/170th). Mueller seconded and motion carried 4-0.
- The Board reviewed a draft bid request for contract hauling for the transfer station.
- Upcoming meetings were discussed. The Board will meet all day on Monday, June 14th and will hold an additional budget work session beginning at 12:30 p.m. on Tuesday, June 15th.

Crofoot moved to adjourn. Becker seconded and motion carried 4-0. Meeting adjourned at 9:30 a.m.

	Randy Dallke, Chairman	
ATTEST:		
Tina D. Spencer, County Clerk		

RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MARION COUNTY, KS

May 28, 2021, Continued

PROCLAMATION

DECLARING OF A STATE OF LOCAL DISASTER EMERGENCY FOR MARION COUNTY, KANSAS

WHEREAS on this 28th day of May, 2021 the Board of Commissioners of Marion County, Kansas, finds that certain conditions have caused, or eminently threatened to cause wide-spread or severe damage, injury or loss of life or property in disaster proportion in Marion County, Kansas; and

WHEREAS, severe and non-severe thunderstorms moved across Marion County during the month of May, saturating the ground causing an immense amount of rain generating flash flooding of rivers, creeks and streams causing the closure of County roads and State Highways; and

WHEREAS, the most recent of which occurred on May 26-27, 2021, when Marion County received severe Thunderstorm Warnings and a Tornado Warning and experienced heavy rains and strong winds with extreme wind gusts; and

WHEREAS, on May 17, 2021 Governor Laura Kelly issued a state of disaster emergency declaration for flooding that occurred in counties throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, to-date this weather system has caused flood damage, road damage, wind damage, road closures, and necessitated at least one water rescue within the borders of Marion County, Kansas; and

WHEREAS, under the authority granted pursuant to Marion County Resolution 2019-02, Randy Dallke, Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners issued a verbal disaster declaration at 07:15 hours on May 27, 2021.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Board of Commissioners of Marion County, Kansas does hereby proclaim:

- That pursuant to K.S.A. 48-932, a State of Local Disaster Emergency exists within Marion County, Kansas.
- That the area within the borders of Marion County, Kansas covered by this proclamation is the entire area of Marion County, Kansas.
- That the Board of County Commissioners shall have all of the rights and/or powers to perform such functions as are vested in said Board by and through the provisions of the Kansas Emergency Preparedness Act of 1975.

BE IT FURTHER PROCLAIMED that this disaster emergency declaration shall remain in effect for a period of seven (7) days from the initial verbal declaration, unless terminated earlier or renewed by consent of the Board of County Commissioners of Marion County, Kansas, and that the verbal declaration issued in relation to this event is hereby ratified by the full Board.

Proclaimed this 28th day of May, 2021.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS MARION COUNTY, KANSAS

Seal *

Kent Becker, Member

Randy Dallke, Chairman

Dave Crofoot, Member

David Mueller, Member

Jonah Gehring, Member

ATTEST:

Tina D. Spencer, County Clerk