## RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MARION COUNTY, KS

August 14, 2020

Commission met in special session as the Board of Canvassers at 9:00 a.m. in Commission chambers at the Marion County Courthouse with Chr. Jonah Gehring, Comm. Kent Becker, Comm. Randy Dallke, and Comm. Dave Crofoot present. Comm. Dianne R. Novak was absent. Also present were Co. Clerk Tina Spencer, Deputy Co. Clerk Ashley Herpich, Election Clerk Michelle Looper, and members of the press.

**CANVASS OF 2020 PRIMARY ELECTION:** Dallke moved to appoint Jo Ottensmeier to the Canvassing Board in his place. Gehring seconded and motion carried 4-0. Crofoot moved to appoint Janis Maggard to the Canvassing Board in his place. Dallke seconded and motion carried 4-0. Becker moved to appoint Lisa Berg to the Canvassing Board in place of Comm. Novak. Dallke seconded and motion carried 4-0. Crofoot and Dallke left the session.

- An election summary report was presented by Spencer. Precinct level results including Election Day scanned totals, hand counts, write-in votes, and late advance votes were provided for review.
- Provisional ballot situations were reviewed. Gehring moved to approve and count provisional ballots as
  recommended on page five (of Spencer's report, as allowed by law). Becker seconded and motion carried 5-0. The
  provisional ballots were opened and scanned. Precinct level results were updated to include all provisional votes
  counted.
- Session recessed until 12:05 p.m. so that results could be combined and updated.
- The Canvassing Board reviewed updated results and signed the certification.

Becker moved to adjourn. Gehring seconded and motion carried 5-0. The Canvass adjourned at 12:30 p.m.

ATTEST:	Jonah Gehring, Chairman
Tina D. Spencer, County Clerk	