## RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MARION COUNTY, KS

July 24, 2020

Commission met in special session in Commission chambers at the Marion County Courthouse at 9:00 a.m. with Comm. Kent Becker, Comm. Randy Dallke, Comm. Dave Crofoot, and Comm. Dianne R. Novak present in person and Comm. Chairman Jonah Gehring present via teleconference. Also present was Co. Clerk Tina Spencer. Present for portions of the meeting were County staff, members of the public and members of the press.

**DISASTER DECLARATION RESOLUTION:** Gehring moved to adopt Disaster Resolution 2020-23 (extending the previous declaration for COVID-19 until rescinded). Dallke seconded and motion carried 5-0.

**BOARD OF PUBLIC HEALTH – COVID-19:** The Board continued as the Board of Public Health. Health Officer Diedre Serene answered several questions regarding the current situation. Serene reported 42 total cases in Marion County with 11 currently active. Serene said there are cases in every Commission District, across the County.

Becker noted that with our numbers going up, in order to get kids back in school and to keep businesses open it may be time to look at a mandate for wearing face masks in public. Crofoot agreed, indicating that all comments he has received have been in favor of masks. Novak disagreed, saying that people in her district are not in favor and personal responsibility should be the focus. Dallke indicated that he would like more information before deciding. Gehring said he struggles with the idea of a mandate.

Concerns included lack of enforcement and the possibility of increased / overwhelming phone calls to Dispatch and the Health Department if a mandate is implemented.

After further discussion, Serene was directed to provide a draft mandate for the Board to consider at the July 27th meeting.

Dallke left the meeting at 9:26 a.m.

Gehring moved to adjourn. Becker seconded and motion carried 4-0. Meeting adjourned at 9:34 a.m.

ATTEST: Tina D. Sp	pencer, County Clerk	Jonah	Gehring, Chairman	

## RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS **BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS** MARION COUNTY, KS

July 24, 2020, Continued

## **DISASTER RESOLUTION 2020-23**

WHEREAS, on the 14th day of May, 2020, the Board of County Commissioners of Marion County, Kansas verbally declared that there was a state of local disaster emergency resulting in widespread and severe impact to Marion County, Kansas (the local jurisdiction) including but not limited to damage, injury or loss of life or property in Marion County, Kansas. Said verbal declaration was ratified on May 16, 2020 through the adoption of Disaster Resolution 2020-12; and

WHEREAS, on May 26, 2020 Governor Kelly issued a State of Disaster Emergency Proclamation from the Economic Consequences or COVID-19 and the Imminent Threat of Future Outbreaks; and

WHEREAS, on May 27, 2020, the Board of County Commissioners of Marion County, Kansas, passed Resolution 2020-15 extending the state of local disaster emergency in Marion County, Kansas, for a period of 60 days; and

WHEREAS, such conditions remain to create significant impact to everyday life and/or endanger the public health, safety and welfare of persons and property within the borders of Marion County, Kansas.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Board of County Commissioners of Marion County, Kansas:

That the state of local disaster emergency in Marion County, Kansas declared on the 27th day of May, 2020, shall continue and remain in effect until rescinded.

That the response and recovery aspects of all local disaster plans which are applicable to Marion County, Kansas shall initiate the rendering of aid and assistance there under.

That any rights or powers lawfully exercised or any actions taken pursuant to local disaster emergency plans shall continue and have full force and effect as authorized by law unless modified or terminated in the manner prescribed by law.

ADOPTED BY THE ROADD OF COUNTY COMMISSISONEDS OF MADION COUNTY K ans as

THIS 24th DAY OF JULY, 2020.	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONER	S
	MARION, KANSAS	B 1 T
	John Shang	[\forall] Yea [] Nay [] Abstain
	Jonah Gehring, Chairman	[ ]
		[√] Yea
ALIMINIA.	P. D. 101	[] Nay
THEN COUNTY	Randy Dallke, Vice-Chairman	[ ] Abstain
EFICIA AND	Railey Banko, Vice Charman	[y] Yea
Z. O. Y.	10.7	[ ] Nay
Soul I	WW J	[ ] Abstain
* * * * * *	Kent Becker, Member	Yea
		[] Nay
Seal *	Dianne R. Novak, Member	[ ] Abstain
Minimut.	17 11	[HYea
	1 ( / // 🗸	[ ] Nay
	Jan Jan	[ ] Abstain
ATTEST.	Dave Crofoot, Member	
	•	
Charles & Miss.		
Tima D. Spencer, County Clerk		